Who We Are

Football Federation Australia (FFA) is the governing body of football in Australia and is a member of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the international governing body for football. Information regarding FIFA is available at http://www.fifa.com.

FIFA is made up of the FFA and 207 other national associations, and also recognises six confederations loosely grouped along continental lines. Each national association is also a member of a confederation. FFA has been a member of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) since joining the body on January 1 2006. For information regarding AFC please visit www.the-afc.com.

Football Federation Australia was established in 2004 and is a member-based organisation loosely based on Australia’s federated system of government. FFA’s membership is comprised of:

  • Capital Football
  • Football Northern Territory
  • Football Federation South Australia
  • Football Tasmania
  • Football Victoria
  • Football New South Wales
  • Football Queensland
  • Football West
  • Northern New South Wales Football

Each of these governing bodies has a commitment to comply with the FFA constitution, applicable statutes, by-laws and regulations, and are responsible for the game within their respective geographic region.

In 2005, FFA established Australia's first ever fully professional national football league - the Hyundai A-League. Today, the Hyundai A-League consists of the following football clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Wellington Phoenix
  • Western United
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

Just three years later in 2008 the FFA introduced the Westfield W-League. Today there are 8 teams who are affiliated with Hyundai A-League clubs and one standalone club from Canberra. Today, the Westfield W-League includes the following clubs:

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Melbourne City
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Canberra United 

FFA's long-term vision is for Football to be the largest and most popular sport in Australia.

In order to achieve this vision, FFA's business operations are structured across three core strategic pillars:

1. National Teams & Elite Player Development
2. A-League & Competitions
3. Football Community

FFA Board

Chairman: Chris Nikou
Deputy Chair: Heather Reid AM
Kelly Bayer Rosmarin
Joseph Carrozzi
Crispin Murray
Remo Nogarotto

Senior Management Team

Chief Executive Officer: David Gallop AM

Chief Commercial Officer: Luke Bould

Head of National Performance: Luke Casserly

Chief Operating Officer: Mark Falvo

Head of Community, Women's Football and Football Development: Sarah Walsh

Head of Legal and Business Affairs: Tim Holden

Head of Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League: Greg O'Rourke

National Technical Director: Robert Sherman

Company Secretary and Special Counsel: Jo Setright